Hajimete No Gal Episode 1 First Impression Review

ScreenShot_20170717013622

I find it bothersome when anime will go so far as to censor panties for an adaptation of a most definitely adult manga.. It isn’t as bad as Pupa, which was censored to the point of confusion as 3/4ths of the screen were blacked out, and this seems watchable as an ecchi comedy. Spring. The “season of love” has arrived and it seems that finding himself a girlfriend was harder than Junichi believed. To break the status quo, Junichi’s friends have forced him into confessing to the gyaru, Yame Yukana. However, things do not go quite as he expected. A series of “firsts” begins! I liked how the manga had fan service but didn’t go borderline hentai. The anime makes me feel uncomfortable at times for some reason. It seems they are trying to crank up the ecchi here.

ScreenShot_20170717014522

It actually seems like basically nothing happened the entire episode. We had the first scene in the classroom in which we’re introduced to bumbling MC and his friends (of whom I’ll say that I can’t remember the last time I grew to hate a group of characters so quickly), as well as Nene whose proportions are really pushing the threshold of human. Then we have the confession scene which was time filled with too much of MC’s “who could like a useless virgin like me” fantasies. I have this sinking feeling that MC is going to be someone we’ll enjoy seeing progress and his trio of “friends” will act as the foils (like childhood friend / love rival, much more handsome prospect, ex-bf, any normal character added to throw a monkey wrench in the main couples progress) and they will continually annoy us and sabotage the trajectory I’d most want the plot to travel in.

ScreenShot_20170717014927

I think everyone will agree with me with this, that this show would’ve been a 100% better without Junichi’s idiot friends. Seriously, I’m used to these kinds of shows and characters but those three were fucking insufferable. I really hope we see less of them as the show goes on. I’m pretty sad that they deviated from the manga. Even though I like the manga, and was looking forward to this show. I was already pretty disappointed with the overall quality of the show, I hate it when studios change things around.  In the manga, the loli wasn’t that short (she was as high as MC’s chin rather than below his chest) and the underwear thing wasn’t even in the manga at all…

 

Tell us what do you think ?

