Konbini Kareshi Episode 1 First Impression Review

ScreenShot_20170714175152

Well this was what I was expecting, a normal cute romance with a ton of ships that looks mediocre. The opening scene was so dramatic I was laughing through most of it. The music and his frantic running and then ending up at the convenience store was just too much for me. Basically, the story is about six high school students hanging around the convenience store on their way from school; they talk about their lives and meet girls they end up falling for.

ScreenShot_20170714190235

All in all it’s kind of weird, Towa and the MC start talking about whatever they are going to do after school while a bunch of characters given no names or context show up briefly, using the same scenes from the intro for some reason, and then it cuts back an apparently important convenience store where a decent amount of the episode takes place.  I think this lasted for a good minute or two and I was like why?…. I don’t know who those people are, I’m sure they’ll never show up again in this episode so WHY? I’m usually a sucker for romances with multiple pairings, but this is about as average as it gets. I guess the convenience store is the common denominator somehow in all the relationships?

ScreenShot_20170714191116

If I’m being honest, there isn’t really anything in this show that’s making me frantically wish that episode 2 would come sooner, but I guess that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Sometimes relationships progress slowly, and to me it looks like this show wants to showcase all the steps that they each go through without any rushing, or any over the top internal emotions. It’s taking on this genre in a way that’s the most realistic I’ve seen in a while: slowly progressing through romance, while not letting it take over one’s entire mind, being able to also focus on other things in the foreground. Not sure if it’ll pick up in the later episodes, but so far this first one was a nice slice of life into these characters.

Tell us what do you think ?

