Tsugumomo Episode 1 First Impressions Review

ScreenShot_20170418013929

Kazuya Kagami’s most treasured possession in the world is the obi left to him by his late mother. The scent of cherry-blossoms infused into it helps him through his day – but he never expected it to save his life, becoming a beautiful kimono-clad girl who calls herself an “artifact spirit.” Her name is Kiriha, tsukumogami of the sash, who naturally moves in with him, as he is her “owner.” Throw in Chisato, his bespectacled friend, an overprotective older sister who wants to take baths with him, a busty priestess, a seductive sorceress named Kokuyoura, and Kazuya’s life has just gotten a lot more interesting.

ScreenShot_20170418015400

In the recent past of ecchi, we have had progressive male protagonists from Shinami Maou no Testament, Monster Musume, and Masou Gakuen HxH to name a few. They didn’t shy away from a pair of tits. They would actively spend time with girls. But apparently we have reverted back to the “a cute girl is cuddling up to me I’m scared” weaklings again. He looks so god damn generic. He acts so god damn generic. I’m calling him Generic-kun from now on. (At least in the manga, he’s only on the defensive when it comes to one girl specifically.) I’ll spoil slightly, the manga is a little slow to get the ball rolling both in ecchi and action, and from what I’ve seen the show is going to keep the manga’s pace, which means it’s gonna be a little rough until I’d say the 3rd or 4th episode.

ScreenShot_20170418015049

¬†As a fan of the manga I actually thought that was a pretty nice adaptation so far. We did miss out on a few lewd shots in the bath but that’s to be expected. I’m excited to see the antics of these two animated. As for casting I wasn’t a huge fan of Kazuya’s voice and a few others. I can’t remember who I wanted for Kazuya’s voice but I wanted it a tad deeper. Kiriha’s was fine but I always imagined her with Shinobu’s voice and still would have preferred that.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tsugumomo Episode 1 First Impressions Review

Tell us what do you think ?

