Mermaid Melody: Pichi Pichi Pitch Manga Review

mr-6332-102579-21

Lucia is the new girl at school. She and her sister run a public bath that’s all the rage. When Lucia meets a terrific-looking surfer boy, there’s just one little problem: Lucia is a mermaid–not just any mermaid, but a princess on an important mission to save the seven seas from an evil force bent on taking control of the marine world. Such a responsibility doesn’t leave much time for romance. But Lucia vows to protect her world and win the heart of handsome Kaito. I have watched the anime version of Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch when I was 11. And being that young, I didn’t really care about plots, characters and all those things. As long as I’m enjoying what I’m watching I’m satisfied. And for my second manga read I decided to read this manga particularly because I want to see the differences between the anime version and the manga. And to be honest, I enjoyed the manga more but it’s not that the anime is bad (It’s just that the whole singing thing was annoying… if you watch the anime like I did. You would know.So you better hope the song is good because you will hear it about 20 more times during the series.) And there were some differences between the two, the plot of the manga version has more happenings.

mr-6332-102578-18

 Naive and dreamy as I was at 11, the two main reasons I became so captivated by Mermaid Melody were its use of magic and the forbidden love storyline. I know that the latter is extremely cliche, but here Luchia and Kaito’s relationship develops so sweetly that it is impossible not to like them. They along with the other couples portray a very idealistic, phantasmagorical view of love which is rather cheesy but seems to fit with the plot. I think the author, Pink Hanamori (check out her other works too) did a great job on that part. As for the magic, being a fantasy fan I found the whole mermaids-having-pearls-which-give-them-the-power-to-sing-songs-which-vanquish-enemies thing pretty neat! Aside from their powers, the series as a whole is inexplicably magical. I can’t really explain how or why, it just feels whimsical when you think about it. It’s one of those things that once you finish it you feel all happy and fuzzy inside, and when people ask you about it you smile and say ‘ahhh it’s amazing!’ but can’t put your finger on why that is so.

mr-6332-102589-23

On the surface, this series appears to be for a young audience. However, it contains some slightly adult content and the books have a 13+ age rating on the back. I would recommend it for anyone, especially romantic day-dreamers, who like reading about magic and love and are looking for a charming yet exciting story to escape into. Overall, it’s a beautiful piece of light reading which will work it’s way into you heart and is something that you will never forget!

Tell us what do you think ?

