Soul Contract Donghua Review

screenshot_20170106165033

Soul Contract is an Chinese animation (donghua, though some might call it an anime) based on a manhua. The story begins where Yang Jing Hua, a poverty-strikened street fortune teller met an onmyoji dude (This is the first time I’m watching a chinese anime and I gotta say the Song Joong Ki reference really cracked me up.) who happens to be battling an evil spirit . The MC literally got ran over by a truck after that incident. The moment he woke up, he seemed to turn 10 years younger overnight. Yang Jing hua thought he had been reborn and when he was about to step on the path for a new beginning, the onmyoji named Duanmu Xi, appeared right in front of him. He not only told MC that he was already dead, he even asked him to make a contract with him. So I guessed it’s something like a pact between the onmyoji and spirit so meh.

screenshot_20170106143501

15 minutes per episode feels kinda short to me and I never thought I was so used to hearing Japanese voices so that, made this anime  sounds soo cringy. It is actually really good (THE manga) but the anime adaptation is good in its own way since it kinda change the original plot. Truly this anime can be qualified as Shounen-Ai but it is more on the relationship of a master and his servant. As probably most of you have figured out by the name, this is a Chinese animation, the second in my life, but I have to say definitely not the last one! Overall Ling Qi or Soul Contract is a beautifully drawn anime with a deeper story from what you’d expect of 20 short episodes. It engages the viewer straight from episode 1 with its perfectly proportioned combination of sweet humour, action, art, BGM, few parodies of other anime and unexpected development.

screenshot_20170106145652

While the story left many things unexplained(which probably the manga will explain), this did not really ruin the pleasure of watching Ling Qi, I did not feel it left me hanging and questioning plot-holes or scratching the back of my head wondering what it tried to convey. Although the Chinese voices are cringy. You’ll probably get used to it after watching 2 or 3 more episodes. The Chinese setting/language was a very refreshing break from the good old Japanese anime and the characters’ behaviour or way of speaking is something I enjoyed immensely as it (especially the voices but still cringy as fuck) felt much less forced than most Japanese animes. I do pay a lot of attention to voice actors, way of talking etc and I can’t hide how much I hate forced voices like in some animes (no normal Japanese person talks like that) and speech in Ling Qi did not strike me as forced or overreacting. But if you are interested in this, I advise you to read the manga right after you finished watching the anime.

Tell us what do you think ?

